Primary Hostilities

Legislators may have fled Capitol Hill this week for the friendly confines of their home districts, but many of them face election opponents who’ll be looking to cast their leadership and voting records in as unflattering a light as possible.

Twenty-six out of 33 legislative primary races this year are match-ups between GOP incumbents. Ten sitting Democratic lawmakers also face primary elections — and as a result of redistricting, in four races against fellow incumbents.

The primary election is Aug. 2.

Here’s the breakdown:



District 2 (R): all of Blount County, part of Sevier County

  • INCUMBENT: Doug Overbey of Maryville
  • CHALLENGER: Scott Hughes of Seymour

District 8 (R): all of Claiborne, Grainger, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson and Union Counties

  • Frank Niceley (now serving in House of Representatives) of Strawberry Plains
  • Jeffrey D. Brantley of Sharps Chapel
  • Cynthia Bundren Jackson of Rogersville
  • Hobart L. Rice of Dandridge


District 14 (R): all of Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall and Moore counties, part of Rutherford County

  • INCUMBENT: Jim Tracy of Shelbyville
  • CHALLENGER: Matt Randolph of Ardmore

District 28 (R): all of Giles, Lawrence, Lewis, Maury, Perry, Wayne Counties

  • Joey Hensley (now serving in House of Representatives) of Hohenwald
  • Dean Dickey of Columbia


District 30 (D): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Sen. Jim Kyle of Memphis
  • INCUMBENT: Sen. Beverly Marrero of Memphis

District 32 (R): all of Tipton County, part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Mark Norris of Collierville
  • CHALLENGER: Woody Degan of Germantown



District 2 (R): part of Sullivan County

  • INCUMBENT: Tony Shipley of Kingsport
  • CHALLENGER: Ben Mallicote of Kingsport

District 5 (R): part of Greene County

  • INCUMBENT: David Hawk of Greeneville
  • CHALLENGER: Bradley Mercer of Afton
  • CHALLENGER: Ted Hensley of Chuckey
  • CHALLENGER: Duncan Cave of Greeneville

District 6 (R): part of Washington County

  • INCUMBENT: Dale Ford of Jonesborough
  • CHALLENGER: James (Micah) Van Huss of Jonesborough

District 8 (R): part of Blount County

  • INCUMBENT: Art Swann of Maryville
  • CHALLENGER: Grady E. Caskey of Walland

District 10 (R): all of Hamblen County

  • INCUMBENT: Don Miller of Morristown
  • CHALLENGER: Tilman Goins of Morristown

District 11 (R): all of Cocke County, parts of Meigs and Jefferson Counties

  • INCUMBENT: Jeremy Faison of Cosby
  • CHALLENGER: Phil Morgan Jr. of Newport

District 12 (R): part of Sevier County

  • INCUMBENT: Richard Montgomery of Sevierville
  • CHALLENGER: Dale Carr of Sevierville

District 20 (R): part of Blount County

  • INCUMBENT: Bob Ramsey of Maryville
  • CHALLENGER: Tona Monroe of Greenback

District 22 (R): all of Meigs and Polk Counties, part of Bradley County

  • INCUMBENT: Eric Watson of Cleveland
  • CHALLENGER: David L. Kimbro of Cleveland

District 24 (R): part of Bradley County

  • INCUMBENT: Kevin Brooks, Cleveland
  • CHALLENGER: Jack L. Epperson of Cleveland

District 27 (R): part of Hamilton County

  • INCUMBENT: Richard Floyd of Chattanooga
  • CHALLENGER: Basil Marceaux Sr. of Soddy Daisy

District 28 (D): part of Hamilton County

  • INCUMBENT: Tommie Brown of Chattanooga
  • INCUMBENT: JoAnne Favors of Chattanooga

District 31 (R): all of Bledsoe, Rhea and Sequatchie Counties and part of Roane County

  • INCUMBENT: Jim Cobb of Spring City
  • CHALLENGER: Ron Travis of Dayton

District 32 (R): part of Loudon and Roane Counties

  • INCUMBENT: Julia Hurley of Lenoir City
  • CHALLENGER: Kent Calfee of Kingston


District 45 (R): part of Sumner County

  • INCUMBENT: Debra Young Maggart of Hendersonville
  • CHALLENGER: Courtney Rogers of Goodlettsville

District 48 (R): part of Rutherford County

  • INCUMBENT: Joe Carr of Lascassas
  • CHALLENGER: Ryan T. Harring of Murfreesboro

District 57 (R): part of Wilson County

  • INCUMBENT: Linda Elam of Mt. Juliet
  • CHALLENGER: Susan Lynn of of Lebanon

District 58 (D): part of Davidson County

  • INCUMBENT: Mary Pruitt of Nashville
  • CHALLENGER: Harold M. Love of Nashville
  • CHALLENGER: Steven Turner of Nashville

District 61 (R): part of Williamson County

  • INCUMBENT: Charles Sargent of Franklin
  • CHALLENGER: Rob Hathaway of Franklin

District 66 (R): all of Robertson County

  • INCUMBENT: Joshua Evans of Greenbrier
  • CHALLENGER: Lee Harrell of White House

District 71 (R): all of Hardin, Wayne and Lewis County, part of Lawrence County

  • INCUMBENT: Vance Dennis of Savannah
  • CHALLENGER: Shirley B. Curry of Waynesboro


District 84, (D): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Joe Towns Jr. of Memphis
  • CHALLENGER: Hendrell Remus of Memphis

District 85 (D): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Johnnie Turner of Memphis
  • CHALLENGER: Eddie Jones of Memphis

District 90 (D): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: John J. Deberry, Jr. of Memphis
  • INCUMBENT: Jeanne D. Richardson of Memphis
  • CHALLENGER: Ian L. Randolph of Memphis

District 93 (D): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: G.A. Hardaway of Memphis
  • INCUMBENT: Mike Kernell of Memphis

District 96 (R): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Steve McManus of Cordova
  • CHALLENGER: Jim Harrell of Cordova

District 99 (R): part of Shelby County

  • INCUMBENT: Ron Lollar of Bartlett
  • CHALLENGER: Thomas Stephens of Millington