Press Releases

Bredesen Appoints 135 People To State Boards, Commissions

State of Tennessee Press Release; July 13, 2010:

NASHVILLE – Governor Phil Bredesen has appointed 135 men and women to serve on 60 state boards and commissions. These Tennesseans represent areas from all across the state.

“I commend all those appointed for their willingness to serve the state through its boards and commissions,” Bredesen said. “Tennesseans have always been recognized for dedicating their time and talents to serve their fellow citizens, and I appreciate these men and women for upholding this tradition. I am confident they will represent their respective boards with integrity and honor.”

Appointment terms vary based on statutory recommendations or term limits specified by geographic or other qualifications. The appointments are as follows:

Advisory Committee on Credit Life Insurance Rates

Earl R. Whaley, Jr., Maryville

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

Jeffrey L. Finney, Elizabethton

Chantal Bena Hess-Taylor, Cordova

Flavenia L. Leaper, Memphis

James E. Topp, Collierville

Advisory Council on Workers’ Compensation

Bobby L. Pitts, Franklin

Air Pollution Control Board

John R. Roberts, Sr., Manchester

Archaeological Advisory Council

David H. Dye, Cordova

Architects and Engineers Board of Examiners

Robert G. Campbell, Jr., Knoxville

Board of Dentistry

Michael Philip Tabor, Nashville

Board for Professional Counselors, Marital & Family Therapists, and Clinical Pastoral Therapists

Stephen A. Caldwell, Dickson

James L. Philpott, Hixson

Board for Licensing Health Care Facilities

Sylvia J. Burton, Cookeville

Elizabeth Ann “Betsy” Cummins, Fayetteville

Janice M. Hill, Memphis

Roy King, Knoxville

Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Craig B. Ratcliff, Sevierville

Board of Communication Disorders & Sciences

John Richardson Ashford, Nashville

O.H. “Shorty” Freeland, Adamsville

Board of Dietitian and Nutritionist Examiners

Abbie Jane Derrick, Nashville

Janet J. Skates, Kingsport

Board of Examiners in Psychology

George H. Bercaw, Chattanooga

Donald Lynn Brookshire, Signal Mountain

Rodney A. Sullivan, Telford

Board of Medical Examiners

Michael John Baron, Franklin

Gary Keith Lovelady, Manchester

Board of Osteopathic Examination

Donald H. Polk, Waynesboro

Board of Physical Therapy

Minty R. Ballard, Brentwood

Lisa Church Fortner, McKenzie

Michael L. Voight, Nashville

Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners

David H. Long, Martin

Board of Respiratory Care

Brian T. Cook, Chattanooga

Board of Social Worker Licensure

L. LaSimba M. Gray, Jr., Collierville

Teresa C. Housteau, Knoxville

Building Finance Committee

Debbie C. Small, Pleasant View

Lonnie M. Haley, III, Memphis

John Frank McGuffin, Morristown

Carroll County Watershed Authority

Joe T. Smothers, Huntingdon

Committee on Physician Assistants

Omar Nava, Clarksville

Emergency Communications Board

Mark T. Archer, Buchanan

Isaac Duff “Ike” Lowry, Bluff City

Steven J. Smith, Murfreesboro

Great Smoky Mountains Park Commission

Warren L. Gooch, Oak Ridge

Health Services and Development Agency

Charlotte C. Burns, Savannah

James Lee Wright, Franklin

Keep Tennessee Beautiful Advisory Council

Terry A. Griffin, Clarksville

Larry E. Potter, Cordova

Jarron B. Springer, Nashville

Local Government Planning Advisory Committee

Tony Burriss, Trenton

Linda Hayes, White Bluff

George E. James, Springfield

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Board

Cathleen T. Burrell, Adams

Jonathan M. Edwards, Lawrenceburg

Regional Transportation Authority Board of Directors

Edward “Ed” Cole, Nashville

James K. “Ken” Davis, Lebanon

Solid Waste Disposal Control Board

Jack Edward Deibert, Clarksville

Jared L. Lynn, Hermitage

State Board of Accountancy

William F. Blaufuss, Nashville

Jennifer L. Brundige, Nashville

Stanley Bernard Sawyer, Memphis

Casey M. Stuart, Signal Mountain

State Board of Examiners for Land Surveyors

Sue Braly, Pulaski

State Capitol Commission

Judith Boyer Danner, Nashville

State Workforce Development Board

Kristee Bell, Memphis

Craig S. Butler, Lexington

Echell Eady, Murfreesboro

Shirley A. Frierson, Nashville

Raymond S. Marston, Lawrenceburg

Jean C. Schmidt, Nashville

Yolanda E. Shields, Spring Hill

Zachariah N. Stansell, Knoxville

Sandra B. Woods, Humboldt

Tennessee Aeronautics Commission

Jim Berry, Georgetown

Tennessee Arts Commission

Donna Chase, Knoxville

Edwin F. Gerace, Johnson City

Carol L. McCoy, Nashville

Tennessee Board of Court Reporting

John Mack Green, Murfreesboro

Tennessee Board of Regents

Agenia W. Clark, Brentwood

Barry Doyle Gidcomb, Columbia

Fran F. Marcum, Tullahoma

Casey Lyn McCullum, Athens

Howard Roddy, Hixson

Tennessee Career and Technical Education Council

James G. Neeley, Nashville

Tennessee Collection Services Board

Elizabeth C. “Beth” Dixon, Memphis

Tennessee Commission on Children and Youth

Philip A. Acord, Chattanooga

Sidney J. Bynum, Nashville

Lindsay V. Callahan, Cookeville

Janell F. Clark, Cookeville

Erica S. Gilmore, Nashville

Martha C. Herndon, Sharon

Carlton Lewis, Nashville

Harold Moses Love, Jr., Nashville

Joy Phillips Strickland, Piney Flats

Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System Board of Directors

Dennis L. Carroll, Cleveland

Alfred W. Laney, Nashville

Tennessee Council on Developmental Disabilities

Cynthia R. Chambers, Jonesborough

Renee M. Lopez, Gallatin

Deborah S. Riffle, Humboldt

Marilyn L. Sortor, Memphis

Tennessee Emergency Medical Services Board

Timothy Lynn Bell, Woodbury

Richard Holliday, Memphis

Dennis Wayne Parker, Sparta

James E. Ross, Jackson

Robert W. Thurman, Jr., Brentwood

Tennessee Foreign Language Institute

Gloria L. Bishop, LaVergne

Katherine Taylor Haynes, Nashville

Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Jack Murrah, Hixson

Zachary Ross Walden, LaFollette

Tennessee Human Rights Commission

Joseph Warren Walker, III, Whites Creek

Tennessee Medical Laboratory Board

Regina L. Bartlett, Hendersonville

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission

James D. “Donnie” Hatcher, Brownsville

Stan McNabb, Tullahoma

William L. Tarr, Jefferson City

Reed Edward Trickett, Nashville

Tennessee Performing Arts Center Board of Directors

Anne L. Russell, Nashville

Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission

James R. “Russ” Farrar, Brentwood

Tennessee Real Estate Commission

Wendell F. Alexander, Dresden

Grover C. Collins, Lewisburg

Michelle W. Haynes, Gallatin

Tennessee Real Estate Appraiser Commission

Edward A. Baryla, Jr., Johnson City

Herbert E. Phillips, Nashville

Nancy W. Point, Rogersville

Tennessee Rehabilitative Initiative in Correction (TRICOR) Board of Directors

Tonya G. Jones, Nashville

George Jordan Phillips, Gallatin

Tennessee State Veterans Home Board

Clarence E. “Gene” Bayless, Jr., Knoxville

Hughley Moore, Collierville

Robert D. “Bob” Tuke, Nashville

Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation

SimmieRay Lee Dinkins, Henning

William C. “Will” Pinkston, Nashville

Tennessee Water Quality Control Board

James W. Cameron, III, Franklin

Frank McGinley, Jr., Savannah

University of Tennessee Board of Trustees

J.A.M. “Toby” Boulet, Knoxville

Carey Elizabeth Smith, Kingsport

Water and Wastewater Financing Board

Randy Paul Wilkins, Springfield

Water and Wastewater Operators Certification Board

Larry W. Moore, Germantown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *