Business and Economy Education Environment and Natural Resources News

Guv Appoints 100 New Members to State Boards, Commissions

Phil Bredesen is tapping people for 34 different industry-oversight and policy-guidance bodies, many of which haven’t convened in months. But Gov.-elect Bill Haslam isn’t particularly bothered by the slots being filled at this late stage of the outgoing administration’s game.

With less than two months before stepping down as the state’s chief executive officer, Gov. Phil Bredesen appointed 100 people to state boards and commissions, leaving a lasting fingerprint on the makeup of many of the state’s occupational governing bodies and policy advisory committees.

Bredesen, a Democrat, will be termed out of office on Jan. 15, 2011. He will be replaced by Republican Bill Haslam, who is just finishing up his second term as mayor of Knoxville.

One of a governor’s duties is to appoint individuals to more than 150 state boards and commissions, ranging from the Board of Athletic Directors and the Drycleaner Environmental Response Board to the Homeland Security Council and the state Ethics Commission.

“Gov. Bredesen has always taken these appointments very seriously and filling vacancies enables boards and commissions to continue their work and service to (the) state,” said a spokeswoman.

Bredesen’s appointments are sending people to sit on 34 different boards and commissions, many of which have not met for several months, according to a TNReport review of the state’s online calendar.

Haslam isn’t particularly bothered that board and commission slots were filled before he had a chance to make appointments himself. “There’s only one governor at a time,” said David Smith, a spokesman for the governor-elect. Bredesen is just doing his job, he added.

It’s too early to tell whether Bredesen’s new appointees — whose opinions and priorities  may differ from those of the new administration — will in any way hamper or cause problems for the new administration, says former state Rep. Susan Lynn, who chaired the Government Operations Committee that reviewed occupational and professional board renewal requests. Lynn has herself been mentioned as a prospect to join the new administration in some capacity.

“It’s just hard to say,” she said. “It’s an enormous job to find people who are qualified to serve on these boards.”

“These positions come open all the time,” she added.

Appointment terms vary based on statutory recommendations or term limits specified by geographic or other qualifications. The governor’s appointments are as follows:

Barber Board of Examiners

Ralph S. Payne, Springville

Board for Licensing Alarm Systems Contractors

Karen Denise Jones, Limestone

McKenzie C. “Ken” Roberts, McMinnville

Board for Licensing Contractors

Cindi Gresham DeBusk, Knoxville

William E. Mason, Greenbrier

Board of Athletic Trainers

Monroe J. Abram, Antioch

Joseph T. Erdeljac, Cookeville

Walter S. Fitzpatrick, III, Cookeville

Cliff E. Pawley, Humboldt

Kurt P. Spindler, Franklin

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

W.T. Patterson, Camden

Commission on Firefighting Personnel Standards and Education

Mark J. Finucane, Johnson City

Drycleaner Environmental Response Board

Cullen Earnest, Nashville

Education Commission of the States

Bruce Opie, Nashville

Patrick Smith, Ashland City

Energy Efficient Schools Council

Carolyn P. Bowers, Clarksville

Goodwyn Institute

Suki Carson, Memphis

Governor’s Advisory Committee on Equal and Fair Employment Opportunity

Jacky Akbari, Franklin

Governor’s Citizens Corps Advisory Committee

Faye G. Morse, Liberty

Michael F. Nesbitt, Carthage

Joseph C. “Joe” Palmer, Cottontown

Homeland Security Council

William L. “Bill” Brown, Greeneville

Keep Tennessee Beautiful Advisory Council

Virginia “Happy” Birdsong, Madison

Marjorie J. “Marge” Davis, Mount Juliet

Sandra S. Ennis, Tullahoma

Jack O. Horner, Talbott

Land Between the Lakes Advisory Board

Steven E. “Steve” Elkins, Nashville

Polysomnography Professional Standards Committee

Bryan P. Hughes, Woodbury

Roxanne M. Valentino, Hendersonville

State Textbook Commission

Lois E. Coles, Brentwood

Robert W. Greene, Decatur

Donald Lanier Hopper, Middleton

Brian K. Tate, Church Hill

Robert M. Stidham, Church Hill

Edith G. Williams, Stanton

Statewide Independent Living Council

Robert L. Leonard, McKenzie

Anthony D. Sledge, Memphis

Tennessee Community Services Agency Board of Directors

Joe D. Barlow, Gainesboro

Lisa R. Bell, Camden

Peggy Collins, Lewisburg

Terry E. Crutcher, Dover

Pamela W. Edgemon, Cleveland

Kathleen J. Garrison, Spring City

Billy Joe Glover, Selmer

Pamela J. Harris, Jonesborough

John A. Hewgley, South Pittsburg

Regina L. Mason, Livingston

John R. Prince, Trenton

Ronald W. Shirey, Jr., Lynnville

Peggy K. Smotherman, Clifton

Martha Beaty Wiley, Allardt

Linda F. Williams, Fayetteville

Tennessee Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision

Stephen G. Young, Nashville

Tennessee Council on Developmental Disabilities

Norris L. Branick, Jackson

Tina Ann Burcham, Counce

Alexander N. Santana, Antioch

Steven Z. Sheegog, Memphis

Joyce Elaine Sievers, Smithville

Tennessee Duck River Development Agency

William Lee Brown, Manchester

Eslick E. Daniel, Williamsport

Robert S. Finney, Shelbyville

Olen Lee Morrison, Lewisburg

Paul Myatt, Bon Aqua

Thomas H. Peebles, Nashville

Betty Superstein, Manchester

Barbara A. Woods, Lewisburg

Tennessee Ethics Commission

Frank E. Barnett, Knoxville

Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Jon M. Kinsey, Chattanooga

Tennessee Historical Commission

John Charles Trotter, Knoxville

Tennessee Historical Records Advisory Board

Jami C. Awalt, Nashville

Rebecca Conard, Murfreesboro

Jackie L. Glenn, Maryville

Jill Kay Hastings-Johnson, Clarksville

Mary McCoy Helms, Chattanooga

Wayne C. Moore, Madison

Richard L. Saunders, Martin

Tennessee Housing Development Agency

Mary Chatman, Springfield

Tennessee Medical Laboratory Board

Kathleen M. Kenwright, Cordova

Jerry L. Miller, Kingsport

Thomas F. O’Brien, Jr., Munford

Tennessee Private Investigation & Polygraph Commission

Walter Valentine, Brentwood

Tennessee Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics Advisory Council

David Sevier, Murfreesboro

Belinda G. Watkins, Collierville

Tennessee Suicide Prevention Advisory Council

Nancy L. Badger, Chattanooga

Kathy A. Benedetto, Johnson City

Roberta “Renee” Brown, Memphis

Anna Lynn Shugart, Maryville

Jacqueline Anne Stamps, Algood

Shelia R. Ward, Jackson

Traumatic Brain Injury Advisory Council

Linda W. Copas, Nashville

Avis Easley, Antioch

Frank R. Meeuwis, Madison

Kathy Rouse, Morristown

Utility Management Review Board

Charlie C. Anderson, Kingsport

Volunteer Tennessee Commission

Laurel Leigh Creech, Nashville

Jonathan P. Farmer, Nashville

Carol L. Gaudino, Memphis

Julie C. Hembree, Knoxville

Emily Ann Jones, Knoxville

James H. Kilgore, Jr., Greeneville

One reply on “Guv Appoints 100 New Members to State Boards, Commissions”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *