Press Releases

House GOP Leadership Rundown

Press Release from the Tennessee House of Representatives Republican Caucus, Dec. 8, 2010:

Rep. Gerald McCormick elected Majority Leader for House Republicans; Republicans name Debra Maggart Caucus Chairman, elect Judd Matheny as Speaker Pro-Tempore nominee

(NASHVILLE, December 8, 2010) – Representative Gerald McCormick (R-Chattanooga) was elected today to lead the House Republican Caucus in the Tennessee House of Representatives for the 107th General Assembly. The caucus elected Representative Debra Maggart (R-Hendersonville) as Caucus Chairman, and Representative Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma) as their nominee for Speaker Pro-Tempore. The leader was chosen in a caucus election today as the group met to organize their business in Nashville for the 2011-2012 legislative session.

“I pledge to continue our caucus tradition of an open-style leadership that will lead a unified caucus,” said Leader McCormick. “I am humbled and honored to be chosen to lead our caucus as we work to make Tennessee an even better place to live, work, and raise a family.”

Chairman Maggart, added, “I am humbled that my colleagues have placed this trust in me. I look forward to working with our nominee for Speaker, Beth Harwell, Leader McCormick, and our entire caucus over the next two years.”

“I am honored that my colleagues chose me as their nominee for Speaker Pro-Tempore,” said Matheny. “I look forward to working with Beth Harwell, who I believe will be elected Speaker of the House, and the rest of the caucus on the issues facing Tennessee.”

Others elected to leadership posts are below.

  • Kevin Brooks, Assistant Majority Leader
  • Ryan Haynes, Caucus Vice-Chairman
  • Barrett Rich, Whip
  • Vince Dean, Floor Leader
  • Tony Shipley, Secretary
  • Joey Hensley, Treasurer
  • Mark White, Assistant Floor Leader

3 replies on “House GOP Leadership Rundown”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *