Press Releases

TN Math, Science Teachers Recognized Nationally in Presidential Award Program

Press release from the Tennessee Department of Education; November 5, 2012: 

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Education is pleased to announce the state finalists for the 2012 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, or PAEMST. This prestigious program was established in 1983 by the White House and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

Outstanding Science and Mathematics teachers are identified in each state and the four U.S. jurisdictions. Elementary and secondary finalists are chosen in alternate years. These exemplary teachers serve as models for their colleagues by providing leadership for the improvement of Mathematics and Science education.

2012 Elementary Science Finalists:

Derri Cash, Lakeside Park Elementary School, Hendersonville
Karla Fultz, A.L. Lotts Elementary School, Knoxville
Margaret Hawkins, Winfrey Bryant Middle School, Lebanon

2012 Elementary Mathematics Finalists:

Amber Hodge, Annoor Academy, Knoxville
Amy Mitchell, Manley Elementary, Morristown
Kimberly Jones, Spring City Elementary, Spring City

Two Tennessee teachers were recognized at the White House earlier this year through the 2011 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. As Presidential Award winners, they received $10,000, a presidential citation and a trip to Washington D.C.

2011 Secondary Science Awardee:

Gail Schulte, Smyrna Middle School, Smyrna, TN

2011 Secondary Mathematics Awardee:

Phyllis Hillis, Oak Ridge High School, Oak Ridge, TN

For more information, please contact Kelli Gauthier at (615) 532-1817 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *