‘Veterans for Alexander’ Announced by Campaign

Press release from the Lamar Alexander Campaign for U.S. Senate; October 15, 2014:

NASHVILLE – The Alexander for Senate campaign today announced “Veterans for Alexander,” a group of veterans from across Tennessee who support Lamar Alexander’s campaign for re-election. Gen. Carl Stiner, a retired four-star general in the U.S. Army, will serve as chairman of the group.

Alexander said, “We owe our veterans a debt of gratitude we couldn’t possibly repay, and I’ve fought to make that clear in the U.S. Senate. I am honored to have the support of so many Tennesseans who have worn the uniform of our Armed Services and helped protect our freedoms.”

General Stiner said, “Senator Alexander has always stood up for Tennessee veterans and military families, and I’m proud to stand up for Senator Alexander by chairing his ‘Veterans for Alexander’ coalition in support of his re-election campaign.”

When the crisis over care for veterans through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs came to light in May, Alexander called for an immediate investigation. He also cosponsored and helped pass into law legislation that gives veterans the same kinds of choices for their health care that they have for higher education. Veterans now have the choice to receive health care from private providers if they are not able to get an appointment at a VA facility in a reasonable amount of time or live more than 40 miles away from a VA medical facility.

Alexander has also consistently voted to support veterans. He voted against the 2013 federal budget agreement specifically because it cut military pension benefits, and he voted in favor of legislation that later restored those pension benefits.

The “Veterans for Alexander” coalition includes:

Captain Barry L. Abbott, US Army (Retired), of Hamilton County
Sam Allen, Tennessee Air National Guard, of Warren County
1st Lt. Tom Allen, US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
James Ball of Knox County
Captain Sam Bartholomew, US Army (Retired), from Davidson County
Captain Thomas Beasley, US Army (Retired), from Dickson County
Robert Bird, US Army (Retired), of Greene County
Command Sgt. Major George C. Bolding, Tennessee Air National Guard, of Warren County
Jean Brock, US Air Force, of Warren County
Hubert Boyd, US Army (Retired) of Warren County
James Braden of Knox County
Richard Briggs of Knox County
Alvin Burnett, US Army, of Knox County
Doug Byars, US Army, of Warren County
Tech Sgt. W.C. Chilton, US Air Force, of Warren County
Noel Chivers of Cheatham County
Wayne Coomes of Marshall County
Sgt. Howard Cotter, USMC (Retired), of Marion County
CW4 Joe L. Creek, US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
Lyle Doty, US Navy (Retired), of Hamblen County
Congressman John J. “Jimmy” Duncan, Jr., US Army (Retired), of Knox County
Colonel James Elmer, US Air Force (Retired), of Davidson County
Ralph M. Gagliano, US Army, of Shelby County
Barry Gipson, USMC, of Warren County
LTC Bruce Gipson, US Army, of White County
State Senator Mark Green of Montgomery County
G.B. Greene, US Army, of Warren County
Bob Griffitts, US Army (Retired), of Knox County
Francis Guess, US Army, of Davidson County
J.P. Guess of Knox County
State Representative Curtis Halford, US Air Force, of Henderson County
Dr. J. Russell Hamblen, US Navy, of Warren County
SUBFLOTSIX Jim Hammond of Hamilton County
John Heinz, USMC, of Shelby County
James H. Hillis, US Army, of Warren County
Jim Horner, US Army and US Air Force, of Dyer County
CW5 Robert Huffman, US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
Larry Johnson, USMC, of Hamilton County
Truman Jones, US Army, of Rutherford County
George King, USMC, of Shelby County
Dr. Homer Kirby III, US Air Force and US Army, of Warren County
Kent Kirby, US Navy, of Williamson County
Dr. Ron Kirkland, US Army, of Madison County
Howard Lee, US Navy, of Shelby County
State Representative Ron Lollar, USMC, of Shelby County
State Representative Gerald McCormick of Hamilton County
Jack McGill of Hamilton County
Jim McNeece, US Army, of Loudon County
Peter Miller, US Navy, of Rhea County
Claude Morse, US Air Force (Retired), of Coffee County
CSM Robert Nichols, US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
Andrew Pokelwaldt, USMC and US Army, from Knox County
Bob Poston, US Army and USMC, from Knox County
Scotty Probasco of Hamilton County
Major General Bill Raines (Retired), of Chattanooga
Tom Reeves, US Army (Retired), of Unicoi County
James Sandlin, USMC, of Warren County
State Representative John Ragan of Anderson County
Kyle Reynolds, USMC, of Dyer County
Michael Rolli, US Army, of Davidson County
James Ryans, US Army, of Roane County
State Representative Charles Sargent of Williamson County
Mike Sellers, US Air Force, of Carter County
Pat Shull, US Army (Retired), of Sullivan County
David Smith, US Army, of Warren County
E.F. Smith, US Navy, of Warren County
Lt. General Hugh Smith, US Army, of Montgomery County
1Sgt Ronald Sokol, US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
Tyrone Sparkman, US Army, of Warren County
Ronald L. Speck, US Army, of Shelby County
General Carl Stiner, US Army (Retired), of Campbell County
Billy Stokes of Knox County
Bill Stout, USMC, of Carroll County
Lt. General Robert Tiebout, USMC (Retired), of Blount County
Tommy J. Vallejos, Jr., US Air Force, of Montgomery County
Tommy Vallejos, Sr., US Army (Retired), of Montgomery County
Thomas B. Vaughn, Jr., US Army, of White County
Col. Thomas Vaughn, US Army (Retired), of Warren County
John Waters of Sevier County
David Wideman, US Army, of Warren County
Fielder Wheeler, US Navy, from Knox County

The Alexander campaign is chaired by Congressman Jimmy Duncan, with co-chairmen Governor Bill Haslam, U.S. Senator Bob Corker, Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, Speaker Beth Harwell, as well as Congressmen Blackburn, Roe, Black, Fincher, and Fleischmann.

The campaign’s Honorary Co-Chairmen include former U.S. Senators Howard Baker (1925-2014), Bill Brock, Bill Frist and Fred Thompson, as well as former Governors Winfield Dunn and Don Sundquist.

Serving as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Statewide Committee to Elect Lamar Alexander are all 13 living former state Republican Party chairs.