Lee Harris Elected TN Senate Minority Leader

Press release from the Tennessee Senate Democratic Caucus; November 25, 2014: 

Sen. Jeff Yarbro elected Senate Democratic Caucus chairman

NASHVILLE – Senate Democrats elected Sen. Lee Harris of Memphis to the post of Senate Minority Leader on Tuesday.

“In a caucus of five members, every single Democrat is a leader in his or her own right,” Sen. Lee Harris said. “We’re making a bet on the future of the Democratic Party in Tennessee, and we’re betting that we have better ideas to move Tennessee forward.”

In addition, Senate Democrats elected Sen. Jeff Yarbro as Senate Democratic Caucus Chairman.

“Both Democrats and Republicans are elected to do what’s right for the state of Tennessee,” Sen. Jeff Yarbro said. “It’s time for all 33 Senators to focus on what really matters for our state, whether it’s expanding access to health care, improving our schools, or building a stronger economy. I look forward to working with each member of our caucus to improve the lives of people in Tennessee.”