Ramsey, Norris, Ketron Re-Elected to Top TN Senate GOP Posts

Press release from the Tennessee Senate Republican Caucus; December 10, 2014: 

Senate Majority Caucus elects Leadership for 109th General Assembly

NASHVILLE — Tennessee Senate Republicans met Wednesday, December 10 in Nashville to elect leaders for the 109th General Assembly where they voted unanimously to nominate Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville) to retain his top leadership post as Lt. Governor and Senate Speaker for a 5th term. The Senate Republican Caucus also voted to re-elect Senator Mark Norris (R-Collierville) for a 5th term as Senate Majority Leader and chose Senator Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro) for a 3rd term as Republican Caucus Chairman.

The State Senate’s organizational session is set to begin on January 13. Senate Republicans now number 28 of the 33 members after gaining 2 new seats in the November 4 election and provide representation to citizens in all 95 counties in the state.

“I am truly humbled to once again be the nominee of my party for Speaker of the Senate,” said Lt. Governor Ramsey. “Since I was first elected lieutenant governor, Republicans have not only achieved historic majorities in the state legislature, we have transformed state government ushering in a new era of transparency and customer service in state government. We have accomplished much but there is still much left to do. I look forward to continuing to work to keep Tennessee a low tax, low debt state and the best place in the nation to own a business and raise a family.”

“I appreciate the confidence of my colleagues — veterans as well as newcomers,” said Leader Norris. “I look forward to continue working together to strengthen our workforce and schools while providing safer communities for all citizens during the 109th General Assembly.”

“I am very pleased to again work with such a tremendous leadership team,” said Chairman Ketron “This team will continue to work together to encourage private sector job growth, strengthen education, follow sound fiscal budget practices, as well as addressing other concerns facing Tennesseans.”

Others re-elected to leadership positions in the Senate Republican Caucus were Senator Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin) as Treasurer, Senator Becky Duncan Massey (R-Knoxville) as Secretary and Senator Mark Green (R-Clarksville) as Chaplain.

Members nominated to the General Assembly’s Joint Fiscal Review Committee from the Senate Republican Caucus are Chairman Ketron, Senator Doug Overbey (R-Maryville), and Senator Steve Southerland (R-Morristown). The nominees will be confirmed through a resolution when the General Assembly convenes. Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston), whose term has not expired, will continue to serve on the Committee, as well as Senator Randy McNally who serves due to the position he holds as Chairman of the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee.