Press Releases

TDOT: Nearly $4.5 M in State Grants Approved for 15 TN Airports

Press release from the Tennessee Department of Transportation; March 8, 2013:

NASHVILLE— The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that state aeronautics grants totaling $4,413,873 have been approved for fifteen Tennessee airports.

Airports receiving grants include:

Athens (McMinn County) – McMinn County Airport

Lebanon (Wilson County) – Lebanon Municipal Airport
Bolivar (Hardeman County) – William L. Whitehurst Field

Morristown (Hamblen County) – Moore-Murrell Field
Clarksville (Montgomery County) – Outlaw Field

Murfreesboro (Rutherford County) – Murfreesboro Municipal Airport
Cleveland (Bradley County) – Cleveland Regional Jetport

Nashville (Davidson County) – Nashville International Airport
Greeneville (Greene County) – Greeneville – Greene County Municipal Airport

Rockwood (Roane County) – Rockwood Municipal Airport
Jacksboro (Campbell County) – Campbell County Airport

Sparta (White County) – Upper Cumberland Regional Airport
Knoxville (Knox County) – McGhee Tyson Airport

Union City (Obion County) – Everett-Stewart Regional Airport
Lafayette (Macon County) – Lafayette Municipal Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.
The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee’s diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 142 heliports and 79 public/general aviation airports. The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.