Press Releases

TNGOP Opposes Changes to Electoral College

Press Release from the Tennessee Republican Party, Aug. 15, 2011:

NASHVILLE, TN – On Saturday, the State Executive Committee of the Tennessee Republican Party unanimously passed a resolution supporting the constitutional Electoral College process of electing the President of the United States.

“Electing the President of the United States through the Electoral College was the method deemed best by our founding fathers. It ensures that all states, regardless of size, are included in the presidential election process, and it helps to preserve the balance of power between the federal government and state governments,” said Tennessee Republican Party Chairman Chris Devaney. The resolution reads, in part, “…the Tennessee Republican Party State Executive Committee does fully endorse retaining the constitutionally approved and time-tested Electoral College method of awarding electoral votes to candidates to win the office of President of the United States of America…”

“While some in the National Popular Vote movement have good intentions, this compact between states is a direct assault on our Constitution and any attempt by other states to improperly influence and usurp another’s rights is blatantly unconstitutional. Our nation is a Constitutional Republic and any attempt to change the electoral process should be done so by a Constitutional Amendment,” said Devaney.

This resolution comes in response to a controversial national movement to implement the “National Popular Vote Interstate Compact.” The compact would radically change the way we elect the President through a questionable legal maneuver, creating a compact between states that would mandate them to recognize the winner of the national popular vote. The compact needs enough states to equal 270 electoral votes, the number of electoral votes needed to win the Presidency. By changing the rules of Presidential elections via a compact, supporters theoretically could have support from as few as 12 states like California and New York, instead of the normal 38 states needed to amend the Constitution.

The SEC resolution, originally sponsored by State Executive Committee member Nathan James, was passed by a 61-0 vote. Five members were not present. All members voting in favor of the resolution have also been listed as co-sponsors. The move follows a recent resolution passed by the Republican National Committee at its quarterly meeting in Tampa this month.

Devaney, along with National Committeeman John Ryder and National Committeewoman Peggy Lambert were original co-sponsors of the RNC resolution.

Press Releases

TN Republicans Eager to Work with Newly-Elected RNC Chairman Priebus

Press Release from Tennessee Republican Party, Jan. 14, 2011:

NATIONAL HARBOR, MD – Today, members of the Republican National Committee elected Reince Priebus as their new Chairman at the RNC Winter Meeting in National Harbor, Maryland. Attending the meeting were Tennessee’s three voting members, Tennessee Republican Party Chairman Chris Devaney, National Committeeman John Ryder, and National Committeewoman Peggy Lambert. Their statements are below:

“There were some quality candidates today, but I am very encouraged that our Party is unifying behind our new Chairman Reince Priebus. Chairman Priebus will help lead the fight in restoring conservative principles in our country, and that begins with firing Barack Obama next year,” said Tennessee Republican Party Chairman Chris Devaney.

“Chairman Priebus has an impeccable track record of maximizing the grassroots arm of our Party in order to win elections. We look forward to working with Reince over the next two years to continue the progress we have made,” said Tennessee National Committeeman John Ryder of Memphis.

“Today is a new beginning for our Party with the election of Reince Priebus as the new RNC Chairman. I’m eager to work with our new Chairman to spread our conservative message across the country,” said Tennessee National Committeewoman Peggy Lambert of Maryville.

Reince Priebus currently serves as the Wisconsin Republican Party Chairman.